2023 Educator of Excellence Nominations

March 14, 2023

The Northern Cincinnati Foundation, in partnership with Lakota Local Schools, is currently accepting nominations for the 2023 Lakota Educator of Excellence Awards sponsored by Phelan Insurance. The nomination deadline is Monday, April 10 and all honorees will be announced the first week of May during Teacher Appreciation Week. 


Two monetary awards will be presented: one to a teacher from the elementary level (PreK-6) and another to a teacher from the secondary level (7-12). The winners will receive a $1,000 grant to be used for a special project at their school, both awards made possible through a generous sponsorship from Phelan Insurance Agency. The third, non-monetary award, will be presented to a Lakota administrator or support staff member who has shown extraordinary commitment to the students and teachers of Lakota Local Schools as well as the community. 


The Lakota Educator of Excellence Award was established in 2007 to recognize educators in the Lakota School District who demonstrate consistency and high commitment to students. These individuals motivate, share ideas, inspire, support, create, and go above and beyond to make a difference in the community. 


Outstanding educators can be nominated to receive this honor by students, colleagues, parents or any community member who wishes to acknowledge an educator’s exceptional effort during the last school year. Nominations are not limited to classroom teachers and may be either in-person or virtual educators. Teachers will be considered for the two monetary awards, but any administrator, counselor, support staff member, etc. working with young people in Lakota will be considered for the third award.


All nominations must include at least two additional support letters in addition to one submitted by the person filling out the nomination form. Winners are chosen by a committee of representatives from Lakota Local Schools and the Northern Cincinnati Foundation.  


Nominations are due Monday, April 10.  


Visit to submit a nomination form.

Yellow pencil graphic with Northern Cincinnati Foundation logo and text: Lakota Educator of Excellence


2010 Audrey Stamp
2011 Shannon Henderson, Linda Abbott
2012 Jenny Hayes, Tim Shaffer
2013 Amy Smith, Dean Hume
2014 Judith Ebbing, Aaron Nunley
2015 Lauri MacNeel, Greg Clark
2016 Tracy Kornau, Jeff Rouff, Todd Caulfield
2017 Cindy Sorrel, Jennifer Akers
2018 Jennifer Parrett, Kristin Sellers, Eunice Vogelsand, John McCutchen
2019 Audrey Young, Jennifer Dietsch, Andrea Blevins
2020 Tricia Nation, Julie Fuqua, Valeria Montgomery
2021 Jenny Hutzelman; Stacey Cooke, Roxanne Begley & Emily Edwards (team teachers); Scott Laman
2022 Kim Snider; Noelia Bruner; Dr. Greg Finke